Friends of Music

Your support can change the life of a deserving student.

Make a gift today!

The Friends of Music at Mason’s mission is to support and build community awareness of George Mason University‘s outstanding Reva and Sid Dewberry Family School of Music and to raise scholarship funds for deserving music students. As a Friend of Music, your efforts and contributions will:

  • Support specific areas of study through student scholarships and program-related endowments
  • Prepare young artists for exciting careers in music
  • Enrich the community with artistic and innovative musicians, scholars, music educators, and ambassadors for the arts

Your life will benefit as well through:

  • Connection with the Dewberry School of Music’s renowned faculty
  • Interaction through activities and programs that allow the Friends of Music and music students to get to know each other outside of the classroom
  • Volunteer opportunities for an array of special events and programs that support our students and faculty

All Friends of Music at Mason receive:

  • Recognition in Dewberry School of Music concert programs
  • Invitations to special concerts and receptions
  • Unique educational programs and master classes by guest artists
  • E-communications from the Dewberry School of Music and Friends of Music at Mason
  • Opportunities to participate in special scholarship programs and activities

Levels of Support are listed in Playbills as:

  • Friend – up to $199
  • Performer – $200 – $499
  • Section Leader – $500 – $999
  • Soloist – $1000 – $4999
  • Diva – $5000 – $9999
  • Conductor – $10,000 +

The FOMM has a wide variety of opportunities for everyone to become involved! 

Please contact Amanda Snellings at 703-993-1593 if you are interested in any of the following opportunities.

  • Snack Attack- Provide caloric and emotional support for Mason music students during finals
  • Welcome Tables- Provide information about Mason Music at performances throughout the season
  • Mailings
  • Special Events



President: Linda Harber

First Vice President: Bob Warakomsky

Vice President for Special Events: Judy Reamy

Vice President for Finance: Joe Kanyan

Vice President for Outreach: Sarah Selvaraj-D’Souza

Secretary: Ed Kelly

Donor Relations Chair: Barbara Jacksier

Board of Directors

Alice Heyer, John Kilkenny, Jerry Long, Dr. Linda Apple Monson, Christine Murrow, Manny Pablo, Sue Perlin, David Ritchey, Claire Saret, Marilyn Smith, David Stone, and Marty Whipple.

Board Associates

Susan Aitel, Jim Bennett, Mike Booth, Audrey Fortner, Shelly Gersten, Linda Hamerschlag, Evans Mandes, Kevin McCarthy, Kay Rongley, Lesley Rubinger, Chris Scheer, Mindy Sims, Bree St. Clair, Marilyn Smith, and Sophy Peng Weinroth